MSA Secretary's Report at 2010 Business meeting:

The 90th annual business meeting of the Mineralogical Society of America (MSA) was held on November 2, 2010 at 4:30 PM in the Colorado Convention Center, Denver. What follows is a brief overview of the main actions taken by the MSA Council and the executive committee, society election results, and other actions since the last business meeting on October 20, 2009.

Membership

Our current membership is 2,790, an increase in 35 since the last report, and the highest since 1987 when it was 2,760. Also, we are only 35 from the all time high of 2,825 back in 1971. Our recent increase in membership is due in large part to students joining to receive the member discount for the Dyar & Gunter textbook; current student membership is at its all-time high. Council is now discussing methods to retain these student members.

New Fellows

The society honored the following twelve members by elevating them to fellow status based on their scientific contributions:

James Beard
Bruno Reynard
Wolfgang F. Mueller
Fernando Camara
Giulio A. Ottonello
Patrick J. O'Brien
Brain L. Phillips
Wilson Crichton
Li-Fei Zhang
Makoto Arima
Hiroyuki Kagi
Huifang Xu

Medalists / award winners

It is a pleasure to officially announce the 2011 medalists. They are:

Roebling medal: Juhn G Liou

Distinguished public service: Jolyon Ralph Dana medal (for 2012): Roberta L Rudnick

MSA Award: Motohiko Murakani

The 2009/2010 Kraus Crystallographic research grant recipient is: Lindsay Sochalski-Kolbus, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA - "High temperature structural study of Li-feldspar"

The 2010/2011 Mineralogy / Petrology recipients are:

Kirsten F Hodge, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada - "Linking a magma's microstructure to a macroscopic description of its rheology"

Fan Wang, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, USA - "Salt mineralogy of the Atacama Desert, Chile: A terrestrial analog for aqueous derived mineral formation on Mars"

MSA congratulates the medalists and award winners, and encourages our members to nominate worthy candidates.

Short Courses

There was one course planned for 2010, "Diffusion in minerals and melts," held in association with the fall AGU meeting in San Francisco, California. Its enrollment was capped at 100. And there are two short courses planned for 2011: "Sulfur in silicate magmas and melts and its importance for natural and technical processes" and "Applied mineralogy of cement and concrete."

RiMG publications

Jodi Rosso continues as editor of the RiMG series. This year two more volumes were published:

- Theoretical and computational methods in mineral physics: Geophysical applications, volume 71
- *Diffusion in minerals and melts*, volume 72.

Jodi continues to explore the possibility of how to take advantages in on-line publishing by exploring the possibility of e-versions of RiMG volumes. One result of this was making electronic versions of the RiMG volumes available on a subscription basis by MSA members through GeoScienceWorld (GSW).

American Mineralogist

We welcome Ian Swainson as the new letters editor of the *American Mineralogist* and thank Bryan Chakoumakos for his years of service in the role of the first dedicated letters editor. Martin Kunz and Jenny Thomson continue as the other two editors. The decision to use GeoScienceWorld (GSW) for electronic publishing of the *American Mineralogist*, as well as RiMG volumes, and *Elements*, continues to serve the society well.

Monographs / textbooks

The Dyar & Gunter *Mineralogy and Optical Mineralogy* textbook sold out of the first printing of 3,500 and second lot of 3,500 was printed. The book has been used in approximately 20% of the colleges and universities in the United States that teach a "mineralogy" course.

Elements

Elements continues to be a success. In 2010 the following six new issues appeared: "Mineral Evolution," "Sulfur," "Fluids in Metamorphism," "Atmospheric Particles," "Thermodynamics of Earth Systems," and "Sustainable Remediation of Soils."

MSA Lecture Program

The following three lecturers, along with their talk titles, have been selected for the 2010/2011 MSA lecture series:

David Dobson

- How juicy is the earth's inner core?
- Reconciling mineral physics and seismological observations
- Deforming the earth: Runny solids in the deep mantle

Craig Manning

- In deep water: New insights into geological fluids in the deep crust and upper mantle
- How efficient is earth's volatile recycling program?

Terry Ann Plank

- Are the oceans shrinking? The subduction zone water cycle
- Hot and cold slabs: New constraints from mineral-fluid thermometers

Meetings

The GSA Annual meeting in Denver, CO was the debut of GSA's Mineralogy, Geochemistry, Petrology, and Volcanology (MGPV) Division that members of MSA have worked so hard to establish over the past few years, and by all accounts, the division seems off to a great start. We continue our discussion of the IMA 2018 meeting and MSA's involvement in it.

Deaths

The following members of our society have recently passed away. Anyone wishing to write a memorial for submission to the *American Mineralogist*, please contact one of the editors.

Walther M. Barnard (member – 1959) Gordon L. Davis (life fellow – 1949) Eric J. Essene (senior fellow – 1975)

Haymo Heritsch (honorary fellow – 1965)

Donald T. Hoff (member – 1968)

Brain H. Mason (life fellow – 1944)

Peter B. Nalle (senior member – 1942)

Michael Seal (member – 1964)

Authur E. Smith, Jr (member – 1960)

Neil A. Wintringham (senior member – 1951)

Lucian W. Zelazny (member – 1978)

Committees

Our committees and those who volunteer to serve on them do much of MSA's work. Details of the MSA committees can be found at our web site www.minsocam.org/MSA/Committees.html and those wishing to serve should contact Mike Hochella (hochella@vt.edu). Mike, as Vice President of MSA, is this year's chair of the committee on committees.

New Developments

There were a couple of new developments with our publications:

- Cadmus will be printing the *American Mineralogist* starting with the November/December 2010 issue
- the "copyright assignment" form was changed to a "license to print" form for the *American Mineralogist*.
- An *ad hoc* committee presented a draft "Asbestos Policy statement" to Council. Minor changes were suggested and the document re-circulated to Council. Hopefully this policy statement will be presented to MSA membership for comments in early 2011.
- The *Handbook of Mineralogy* has a new editor, Kenneth Bladh, and progress has begun on updating it.

2010 Election Results

It is a pleasure to announce the results of the 2011 elections that were held on the web for the sixth time. Dave Bish was elected as president, Mike Hochella as vice president, Darrell Henry as Treasurer and Pamela Burnley and Guy Hovis as councilors. John Brady moves from president to past president, and Mickey Gunter remains as secretary. Finally we owe a debt of gratitude for those who are stepping off council, Carol Frost and Peter Burns are leaving after serving their three-year terms. Last we thank Nancy Ross who leaves council after serving as vice president, president, and past president, along with previous service as a councilor. The secretary notes the balance of MSA council remains the same as one Virginia Tech professor leaves (i.e., Nancy) and another steps on (i.e., Mike).

Mickey E. Gunter Secretary, Mineralogical Society of America