Summary of the motions and key items discussed at the

### MINUTES OF THE FIRST 2002 COUNCIL MEETING

### MINERALOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

for posting on the MSA Website

Attending: Rodney Ewing, President Cornelis (Kase) Klein, past-President Douglas Rumble, Vice-president James Blencoe, Treasurer David M. Jenkins, Secretary David L. Bish, Councillor Jeffrey E. Post, Councillor Craig Manning, Councillor Kathryn Nagy, Councillor Kathryn Nagy, Councillor Nancy Ross, Councillor J. Alex Speer, MSA Executive Director

visitors:

Sorena S. Sorensen Michael Carpenter William Carlson, Past President Robert Dymek, Co-Editor, American Mineralogist Lee Groat, Co-Editor, American Mineralogist Gordon Nord, MSA Webmaster

Note: Motions are presented in *italics*; SoC = Sense of Council, S = Second

The First meeting of the 2002 Council of the Mineralogical Society of America was held in the Sheraton Boston Hotel, Boston, Massachusetts, November 4, 2001.

#### ITEMS

1. Call to Order

President Ewing called the meeting to order at 2:32 PM, Sunday, November 4, 2001.

2. Proposed 2002 budget

R. Ewing asked for a motion to adopt the proposed 2002 budget.

D. Rumble moved to adopt the Proposed 2002 budget as detailed in Appendix B of the Treasurer's report to the Third 2001 Council meeting. S = N. Ross. Motion passed unanimously.

### 3. Authorizations

P. Heaney moved to authorize the MSA Treasurer, James Blencoe, to conduct the financial affairs of the Society and to authorize the Executive Director, J. Alexander Speer, to write checks and make other forms of payment and transfers on the Society's accounts as directed by the Treasurer and Council actions. S = D. Rumble. Motion passed unanimously.

## 4. Committee appointments for the 2002 Council year

D. Jenkins asked (for clarification) if he should indeed contact S. Banno to see if he would serve on the Nominating Committee for Fellows as suggested in the 3<sup>rd</sup> 2001 Council meeting. This was affirmed by council.

D. Rumble moved to approve the suggested committee member and committee chair assignments contained in the report of the Committee on Committees made to the Third 2001 Council meeting and as amended by the Third 2001 Council meeting. S = N. Ross. Motion passed unanimously.

# 5. Appointment of Editors for 2002

C. Klein moved to approve the appointment of Robert F. Dymek and Lee A. Groat as co-editors of the American Mineralogist, Paul H. Ribbe as Editor of the Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry and Monograph series, Andrea Koziol as Editor of The Lattice, and John B. Brady, Donald B. Dingwell, Martin Dove, Frank S. Spear, and Allan H. Treiman as co-editors of Geological Materials Research. S = N. Ross. Motion passed unanimously.

6. Authorization of Mail, Telephone, and E-mail Ballots

D. Bish moved that mail, telephone, and e-mail ballots may be used whenever necessary to conduct the affairs of the Society. S = D. Rumble. Motion passed unanimously.

7. Future of MSA

Discussion ensued on the future of the society, the general status of mineralogy in educational institutions and in the general scientific community, and the level of support for mineralogical research from the government.

# 8. Adjournment

D. Rumble moved that the 1st 2002 Council meeting be adjourned. S = J. Blencoe. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 2:50 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

David M. Jenkins, MSA Secretary.