## Minutes of the First 2019 MSA Council Meeting

Saturday, 3 November 2018 JW Marriott-Indianapolis 10 S. West St., Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

## Attending:

Mickey Gunter, President
Michael Brown, Past President
Carol Frost, Vice President
Thomas Duffy, Treasurer
Bryan Chakoumakos, Secretary
Sarah K. Carmichael, Councilor
Sarah C. Penniston-Dorland, Councilor
Jay Ague, Councilor
Donna Whitney, Councilor
Mark Caddick, Councilor
Adam Simon, Councilor

## Visitors:

J. Alex Speer, MSA Executive Director Rachel Russell, Managing Editor, *American Mineralogist* Peter Heaney, Centennial Committee Chair Ann Benbow, incoming Executive Director

Note: Motions and Council action items are presented in *italics*; SoC = sense of Council

2:45 PM, Meeting called to order by Mickey Gunter. He thanked Mike Brown for his exemplary term as President.

## **ITEMS**

- [1] Approval of the proposed 2019 budget included in the Treasurer's report.
- [2] Authorization for the Treasurer and Executive Director to conduct financial affairs of the Society.
- [3] Acceptance of the committee appointments for the 2019 Council year.
- [4] Appointment of Editors.

Editor(s) of the *American Mineralogist* (see 2018-3 Council meeting minutes). Ian Swainson is appointed Editor of the *Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry* and *Monograph* series. Andrea Koziol is appointed MSA Event Editor for *Elements*. Kenneth Bladh is appointed Editor of the *Handbook of Mineralogy*.

[5] Authorization of mail and telephone ballots.

Carol Frost moved that the items [1-5] be approved by Council, Sarah Carmichael seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

- [6] Conflict of interest forms were completed and signed by all Council members.
- [7] Future of MSA discussion.

Jay Ague suggested that we could engage and retain more students by offering more grant awards. A varied number of awards each year should be considered, e.g., over 60 proposals were receive for the Min-Pet Grant Award and many more than 2 of these were worthy of recognition. Current awards are \$5,000. Consensus is that we should give 2 or 3 \$5,000 awards depending upon the strength of the Min-Pet endowment fund in that year, to be decided at the 1<sup>st</sup> Council meeting each Fall.

Mike Brown moved that MSA award three \$5,000 Min-Pet Awards next year. Jay Ague seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Mike Brown moved that eligible applicants for either the Min-Pet or Kraus Crystallographic Grant awards must be MSA members. Mark Caddick seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

How to get more new student members is a concern shared by all of Council. An incentive, such as a free RIMG volume, to join is one idea.

For education outreach, we should consider new technologies like virtual reality, artificial intelligence, etc. to keep pace with new ways to communicate our mission and engage new student members.

Thomas Duffy showed by example that lapsed members respond to personal contact. Six of 11 lapsed Fellows replied to a personal e-mail sent by him, and 5 had already renewed by the time of the Council meeting.

Adam Simon moved to adjourn the meeting, Jay Ague seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Respectively Submitted,

Bryan Chakoumakos, MSA Secretary

